Connect with us


Liverpool have won the Premier League for the first time in 30 years



Liverpool have won the Premier League after beating Chelsea 5-3 on Wednesday night, the club’s first trophy in 30 years.

Following Liverpool’s triumphant victory at Anfield, Captain Jordan Henderson received the trophy in honor of Sir Kenny Dalgish, former Liverpool manager and former player who led the club to the Premier League title in 1990 and since then the club has not had a similar success until now.

Liverpool have won the Premier League since June 24 with seven games to go, after Manchester City lost to Chelsea but traditionally the club will have to wait until their last home game when they are expected to be awarded the trophy.

Although Liverpool lifted the trophy without the presence of 53,000 spectators at Anfield, officials allowed the players’ families to attend their last home game to congratulate them on their victory.

Security personnel imposed a curfew to prevent fans from congregating outside the stadium but hundreds of fans violated the curfew and gathered outside the stadium to celebrate.

In a message to Liverpool fans, Jurgen Klopp said: “When the time comes, the club will be ready for a big party to celebrate the victory where a victory parade is expected to hold in the coming months.

52 Reads
READ MORE  David Luiz expected to sign contract extension at Arsenal

A Happy Sport Writer, with 8years professional experience in Football.