Africa road infrastructure: Madagascar nominated for 2023 Babacar NDIAYE Trophy

Photo of author

By Emmanuel Uzodinma

The members of the Selection Committee of The Africa Road Builders – Trophée Babacar NDIAYE have nominated Madagascar as this year’s winner of the Super Prize Great Builder – Babacar NDIAYE Trophy.

As in previous years, the Selection Committee worked on the basis of the 2023 report produced by the Media Network for Infrastructure and Finance in Africa (MIFA).

The Selection Committee also considered public reports from international institutions and organisations on roads and transport in Africa, as well as all relevant publications available and searchable in the areas under consideration.

In this year, 2023, the central theme of the work is: “Sustainable mobility in Africa, a lever for development”.

According to a press statement signed by Mr. George Orido, on behalf of the selection committee, “HE. Andry Rajoelina, President of the Republic of Madagascar, is designated Laureate of the Super Prize Great Builder – Babacar NDIAYE Trophy 2023.

“For his personal leadership and for his commitments and investments to provide Madagascar with mobility infrastructure in perfect harmony with sustainable development objectives.”

He added that, “The Selection Committee particularly noted the delivery of the Iarivo ring road, the peripheral highway of the city of Antananarivo, a symbol of sustainable mobility infrastructure with, in particular, the integration of pedestrian and cycle paths alongside the motorised paths.

“With its secure bus stops and rubbish drop-off points for better collection, this road is resolutely at the service of the population.

“The Selection Committee also noted the expansion of Ivato airport which takes into account people with reduced mobility and improved car parks, as well as now clearly visible pedestrian signs.

“Finally, the Selection Committee notes with great satisfaction the strengthening of transport connectivity in rural areas. This undoubtedly increases agricultural productivity and improves the life of the economy and the lives of people.

“The Selection Committee also welcomes the approval by the African Development Bank (AfDB) of the ‘Country Strategy Paper for the period 2022-2026’.

“This agreement will notably enable Madagascar to benefit from increased interventions in terms of transport infrastructure, “with a view to supporting inclusive growth”.

“The Selection Committee warmly congratulates President Andry Rajoelina and all the people of Madagascar.

“The Selection Committee therefore has the honour and pleasure of inviting President Andry Rajoelina to receive the Babacar NDIAYE Trophy on May 26, 2023, on the sidelines of the AfDB Annual Meetings in Sharm el Sheikh in Egypt.

“The Selection Committee would like to thank the President of the United Republic of Tanzania, HE Samia Suluhu Hassan, 2022 laureate, whose trip in person to receive the trophy helped to increase the notoriety of this initiative.

“The Selection Committee renews its thanks to President Macky Sall (2017 winner) and to the people of Senegal, a land of welcome for all the children of Africa.

“The Selection Committee would also like to thank in a very special way HE. Muhammadu Buhari, outgoing President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and his entire government for their invaluable support for this initiative.”

“At this level, the Selection Committee also expresses its deep gratitude to Honourable Prince Adegoroye, State Minister for Transportation of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, for his personal involvement. The Committee extends these thanks to Mr. Mansour Faye, Minister of Transport of Senegal.

“The Selection Committee thanks the AfDB and its President, Dr Akinwumi Adesina, for the continuous efforts in favour of road and transport across the continent, and for the sponsorship granted to The Africa Road Builders – Trophée Babacar NDIAYE.

“Finally, the Selection Committee salutes the memory of Dr Babacar NDIAYE, former President of the AfDB, who inspired this event. The Committee expresses its gratitude to the Babacar NDIAYE family,” he further said in the statement.

Leave a Comment