Senator Odey, 25 others make commissioner list in Cross River

Photo of author

By Asare Asare

A former Senator, who represented Cross River North, Dr Stephen Odey has been nominated as commissioner.

He returned from the Senate to continue his job as chairman of the State Universal Basic Education Board, SUBEB, when the court removed him in favour of the incumbent, Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe of the PDP.

He is among 25 others to be screened today, Friday, by the Cross River State House of Assembly.

They are: Mr Mike Odere, Dr Justin Beshel, Hon Agnes Atsu, Hon Patrick Egbede, Hon Robert A Ewa, Dr Egbe Ayuk, Dr Beatrice lgwe, Prince Eka Williams and Mr Oden Ewa.

Others are: Hon Moses Osogi, Barr. Odum Ijom Ukam, Hon Ankpo Pius, Mrs Abigail Duke, Hon Lawrencia Ita, Chief Felix Idem, Pastor Ekpenyong Cobham, Ntufam Emmanuel Anum, Mrs Gladys Eutendala, Dr Hippolatus Ogar Lukpata and Hon Edema Erom.

Also nominated are Barr Mensah Bassey, Barr Ededem Ani, Bishop Margaret Ene-ita, Chief Francis Ekpenyong and Dr Mathias Unimke Angioha.

Meanwhile, the Speaker of the Assembly, Elvert Ayambem has said that Governor Bassey Otu has selected nominees who have integrity to serve as commissioners in the State.

The Speaker spoke on Thursday when he confirmed to journalists that the Assembly has received a list from the Governor containing 26 names.

The Speaker noted that the 26 nominees were spread evenly across the 18 LGAs of the State.

“The Governor took his time in the selection of the nominees to ensure that all of them are square pegs in square holes.

“I am happy that the Governor transmitted the list within the stipulated time. The nominees are credible people,” he said.

Ayambem said they would be thorough while scrutinizing the nominees.

He also emphasized that the House would carry out effective oversight of MDAs to ensure accountability.

The list was referred to the House Committee on Judiciary for proper scrutiny and screening.

Leave a Comment