Abbas reshuffles standing committee chairmen

Photo of author

By Abdul Seye

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas, has done a minor reshuffling of the standing committees following the appointment of Tanko Sununu as minister.

In a statement issued on Thursday, Abbas announced the reshuffling, saying it became necessary due to the appointment of Sununu and Tunji-Ojo as ministers.

“Following the nomination of some members of the 10th House of Representatives as Hon Ministers by His Excellency, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu and the void in the leadership of some standing committees of the House, it is my pleasure to announce the appointment of [other] lawmakers to fill up the vacant positions,” he stated.

DAILY POST recalls that Sununu, until his nomination as minister, served as the chairman of Healthcare Services.

Abbas subsequently appointed Dennis Idahosa as the new chairman of the Committee on Healthcare Services.

Meanwhile, Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo (YPP, Akwa Ibom) has been appointed as the Chairman, House Committee on Electronic and Digital Banking. He replaced Idahosa.

Also, Mamudu Abdullahi (APC, Niger) has been moved from Hydrological Services to the Committee on Army, while Pascal Agbodike (APGA, Anambra) is now the chairman of Hydrological Services.

Furthermore, Bukar Talba (APC, Borno) is Chairman, House Committee on Institutional Reforms.

Leave a Comment