Sanwo-Olu sends new list of commissioner nominees to Lagos Assembly

Photo of author

By Seun Opejobi

The Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has sent another list of commissioner nominees to the state House of Assembly.

This was disclosed on Monday by the Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa.

The immediate past Commissioner for Health, Prof Akin Abayomi, who was among the 17 nominees rejected by the House, made the new list.

Obasa stated in a tweet that the ad hoc committee, headed by Chief Whip Fatai Mojeed, will also screen the new batch of nominees.

His tweet: “Governor’s Nominees for Commissioners: Speaker Obasa calls on the committee that handled the previous nominees to take charge on the new list sent by the Governor, @jidesanwoolu, and report back to the House by Thursday 7/09/2023.

“Some of the nominees have their documents with you, and you can reach out to the new nominees. I want you to be thorough and do the needful while carrying out this exercise.”

A few weeks ago, the House had confirmed 22 and rejected 17 out of the 39 nominees Sanwo-Olu sent to the House.

The rejection of the 17 nominees by the House had raised dust among politicians and residents of the state.

The nominees (FULL LIST)

Prof Akin Abayomi

Gbenga Omotosho

Sam Egube

Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi

Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen

Engr. Olalere Odusote

Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem

Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe

Tolani Sule Akibu

Cecilia Dada

Barakat Akande Bakare

Mosopefoluwa George

Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje

Olumide Oluyinka

Abayomi Samson Oluyomi

Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola

Sola Shakirudeen Giwa

Leave a Comment